Benefiting from £3.8M and then a further £4.35M of funding from the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, EPSRC, the Fusion CDT is a collaboration between five of the UK’s top universities – Durham, Liverpool, Manchester, Oxford and York – and world-class research institutes, including UK Atomic Energy Authority, Central Laser Facility, National Nuclear Laboratory, AWE, National Ignition Facility, ITER and Fusion for Energy.

The Fusion CDT has strong links with industry, including the emerging private fusion companies (such as First Light Fusion and Tokamak Energy) and the growing number of supply chain companies from large multi-nationals to SMEs.